Skip links

Canadian Sales Tax Rates

Canadian Sales Tax Rates include a Federal GST which is included in all the HST rates in Canada, only Alberta, the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut charge the Federal tax alone. The Provinces of Ontario, Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and PEI charge an HST rate, Quebec charges a QST rate separately with the GST rate and the Provinces of British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba charge a retail sales tax with the Federal GST rate.

We have summarized below the Canadian Sales Tax Rates for the various provinces effective July 1, 2016. At the time of writing this post PEI is planning an increase in their HST rate in the fall of 2016. The table also provides links to the various Finance Departments. To learn more about the GST/HST look at RC-4022 General Information for GST/HST Registrants or click here.

Province Federal GST Rate Provincial HST/QST Rate Provincial Retail Sales Tax Rate Link
Alberta 5% Alberta Treasury Board
British Columbia 5% 7% BC PST
Manitoba 5% 8% Manitoba RST
New Brunswick 15% New Brunswick Ministry of Finance
Newfoundland 15% Newfoundland Dept. of Finance
Northwest Territories 5% NWT Finance
Nova Scotia 15% Nova Scotia Finance and Treasury Board
Nunavut 5% Nunavut Dept. of Finance
Ontario 13% Ontario Ministry of Finance
Prince Edward Island 15% Prince Edward Island Dept. of Finance
Quebec 5% 9.975% Revenu Quebec
Saskatchewan 5% 6% Saskatchewan PST
Yukon 5% Yukon Dept. of Finance

A listing of the Canadian Sales Tax Rates by Province as of January 1, 2017.